september 2nd

September 2, 2008 pottersp

“The Church Uptown” was very interesting to me. Some of the things that were stated were the same things or ideas I had thought of in my head. The first time I saw St. Mary’s, I thought, “What in the world is this little Catholic church doing sitting in between places to eat and have fun?” I figured it was another boring little Catholic church that was uptight. I thought all of these things without knowing ANYTHING about the place. I pre-judged it, often like how people judge others without getting to know them. It’s not just a place to go listen to a sermon, it’s a place where people can connect with God, get away from the drama and stress of every day life, a place where you can confess and be forgiven. At this point, I felt awful of my first impression or idea of the church. I was being biased without knowing the least bit about St. Mary’s. I am not Catholic so it doesn’t appeal to me much. However, judging it still wasn’t right. Through all the bars, beauty salons, and places to eat and be entertained on High Street, St. Mary’s is stuck between. Hoping that they can pull some more people away from the negative things and into the light. This is a traditional place and means a lot to the parishioners. It has withheld all kinds of things and is still standing strong. Just as people withstand all the stress, drama, and pain in life, however, we have to still stand strong. And St. Mary’s helps people get away from their problems and go to a place where you won’t be judged for what you do or who you are. All in all, this reading made me feel like I judge people and things too quickly. I learned a lot from this reading and it has changed some of my thoughts.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amelia  |  September 2, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    I completely agree with you about how others judge people based on no previous knowledge. I like what you said towards the middle about all of the other distracting things located uptown not being able to “take down” the lone church in the middle of everything. I’m glad that this essay changed some of your thoughts on the church.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts

 
